This is the talk page for discussing improvements to the FileLogs page.
Template & HTML rendering
Irrelevant log entries are shown
When viewing a deleted file page, protect/upload/etc. log entries are shown. Not sure if you'd consider this an issue or not, but it does differ from the behaviour in other namespaces (which only show move/delete entries, per default message). - OneTwoThreeFall talk 15:05, November 14, 2018 (UTC)
- Looking into it a bit more, it seems you can grab the appropriate log entries from the file's own
?action=historypage - (example: File:QQX_Oasis.png?action=history) rather than from Special:Log?page=File:QQX_Oasis.png. History page also includes the
moveddeleted-noticemessage - no need to fetch separately! - OneTwoThreeFall talk 13:33, January 27, 2019 (UTC)
Not working on Legacy and other issues
Hi there, like the message I left at Talk: OldFilePages#Not working on Legacy, this is likely a temporary thing, but since Fandom announced a pause for the migration process, does anyone know why the script suddenly isn't working for wiki that hasn't migrated? Also, I know the "UCP compatibility" stated delete and the reasoning seems sound, however, I think the UCP version of the script is still running fine (while the old CC global.js isn't,) because, on a deleted file on UCP wiki, I'm actually seeing two messages, and they are not identical, I think the more detailed one is provided by this script (because it really has all logs, not just for when it was deleted but when first uploaded as well.) If anything, I do like a more detailed version, even if its minute, there's still a difference and worth keeping? Just my opinion though.
Anyways, again with the same message: The script hasn't been updated and I've installed it for over a year, even just yesterday it had been working, and now it isn't... I know that technically all community would eventually be migrated, but I'd like it to still be available until migration is done? Can anyone shed some light on the matter? Thanks! --Sammm✦✧(talk) 03:55, September 1, 2020 (UTC)
Any chance you can keep this?
- I concur; as stated on the section above, there's slight differences as to what the default UCP provided: It is not as detailed as this strict used to display. This script literally has all the logs visible, create, move, protect, replace/upload, and delete (if I missed some, my bad, my memory isn't all that good,) whereas UCP's standard like, only has the delete? Sure, I can view the logs after I clicked view/restore, but the keyword is after, and having to go to another page at that. I honestly much prefer if I can see things in one go, when the script used to offer exactly that. It used to work on UCP wikis, too! Which is how I even was aware of the differences, but now I'm only seeing one log, so I'm assuming it got disabled. Can people have the option of seeing double, please? So very much appreciated. --Sammm✦✧(talk) 07:35, October 30, 2020 (UTC)
- I was initially against keeping it, myself. Until I read Sammm鯊's comment. And now I'm actually against it being deleted. I think that if this provides something the default version does not then it should be kept. ― C.Syde (talk | contribs) 11:08, October 30, 2020 (UTC)